Tag Archives: longer

Pluto no longer a planet

Gathered in Prague in 2500 astronomers from around the world have made this decision by voting. On Monday, the Assembly gave a recommendation to the commission IAU nomenclature.

Worked out according to the Commission definition, planets are considered only celestial body orbiting the Sun, with sufficient gravity to have a shape close to the field and occupying its orbit alone. Thus, in the solar system has eight planets: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune.
Read the rest of this entry »

Leave a comment

Posted by on October 30, 2012 in Earth, Galaxy, Planet


Tags: , ,